GUEST POST BY MARY PEREZ


Why Did I Write My Book
Thanks to my grandmother, I took a liking to writing at an early age. She instilled in me the importance of reaching out to relatives across the miles by letters. At first she’d have me add a paragraph or two at the end of her own typed-written ones. Eventually I started mailing out my own letters and cards and quite contented in doing so.
The one statement I’ve been told since early on was that I have “a way with words”. I quickly found comfort taking pen to paper as I found expression, void of any nervousness or interruptions to my train of thought.
The idea of a book didn’t occur to me until a few years ago. My motivation in writing my story initiated because of my children. Upon reflection, I felt they needed to know some of the hardships that I endured. Their thinking me as some kind of superwoman didn’t negate the fact that I had my own share of meltdowns, loneliness and at times felt powerless. They needed to know that life’s entire journey did not take me to a happy place. Although I endured some hardships along the way, I also discovered strength because of the struggles. I was a mess, but God healed my messes and turned them into a message of hope, survival and forgiveness.
The beauty in my writing endeavors was to find how others needed to hear my story for inspiration. My journey is one of God’s grace and how He turned my weakness into a pillar of strength when I needed it the most. As I learned to rely in Him in the valleys, I recognized Him in the mountain tops. I am no longer a victim, alone or afraid.
My book, “Running in Heels: A Memoir of Grit and Grace” carries a young girl through the shadows of her mother’s choices and on through an abusive marriage. It is an incredible story of survival in the face of hopelessness, and learning to forgive against all odds.

Leave a Reply

