NATIONAL SUMMIT ON NON-VIOLENCE Saturday August 23, 2014


I am going to a summit tomorrow on violence. It is the National Summit on Non-Violence. For so many years we have heard preached that we should practice non-violence. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and eventually Malcolm X; in the stories about their lives they moved to the opposite’s person position. So here is my take on it before I go and then I will tell more when I return with pictures and a recording hopefully of the summit.
The state of affairs of African American relations with the police have always been fraught with problems, violence, ignorance and idiocy. The idiocy is us thinking that the law had our back. The ignorance is us thinking that the law had our back. The violence is us thinking that the law had our back. The problem is us thinking that the law had our back. On the flip side is that the problems we had is us thinking that we were in the right when we were sometimes in the wrong. The violence is because we thought it was safe to reach into our bag. We thought it was safe to go for our sunglasses. We thought it was safe for us to talk with the police. And the ignorance and the idiocy comes from the people who watch and listen and try to make sense; so they loot and they kill and sometimes they make worse. But isn’t good.
Hopefully as people learn the art of non violent protest they will decide that it’s better to fight as a group with a mind of like convictions that will not destroy the town or state we live in. Because the ignorance is that the man who committed the crime if he is a cop may more than likely get off. And the family left behind will have nothing but anger and hatred. Yes hatred. It’s like I have my baby in my body for nine months go through hours of labor with him and in less than an hour you can take my baby’s life. And I am supposed to want to go and shake your hand while my baby lies dead. Now you may not like me for saying that but I am a young woman; I have seen television and heard about my friends dying and also read stories. But the problem is that the situation with Ferguson has escalated as most situations do to violence. Apparently even the Klu Kluxx Klan is involved. I have to say although I am not a white supremacist I believe that they shouldn’t align themselves with that. And I read an article which supported that. Count them five different versions of the event all support the same conviction- he was murdered by a cop. No gun confirmed by the person who was actually with him. No stolen merchandise as far they can see. Videotape which shows him apparently trying to rob a store patron. What was on his person that was the proof? And the man is down the street from the store. The reason for him stopping and trying to arrest him was what? Did he receive the call? From the store? And then they ran down the street until one was dead and the other was alive. And then all the witnesses’ reports and the autopsy’s seem to corroborate the version of events told by the witnesses. Now the protests have started and some of the violence is noted on television. The National Guard has been called out; the police are in riot gear and the Attorney General himself Holder has made a visit.
So here is what I hope to accomplish at the summit- networking; an opinion of people on non-violent protest; pictures; possible blog entries and new friends hopefully. I hope to have a good conclusion to my article and also a good start to a conversation around the blogosphere. So until tomorrow I bid you goodnight. 082314 @ 1:48 am.
August 25, 2014
I attended the summit on Saturday. Let me take you through the day. I left the house around 5:45 am and then we didn’t arrive there in DC until 10 am. It took us a couple turns around the block to find parking and then when we got inside they had already started although they were running behind. We saw three panels and then didn’t stay for lunch. I was too cold.
Let me share with you some of the pictures I took and you can see for yourself what it was like. See pictures.
The idea for the summit was good. I re-listened to it as I taped it. But I think you had to be there. To break it down- the idea was to discuss ways to help educate ourselves about non-violence and ways we could help each other out. How to help our children and how to help ourselves. How to handle our encounters with the police and all. How to handle encounters with others.
It was good to see a lot of black faces altogether in a room. All different walks of life and religions. Old and Young. The day was a good day to come together and talk.
National-International Summit on Non-Violence 001

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 002

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 003

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 004

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 005

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 006

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 007

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 008

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 009

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 010

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 011

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 012

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 013

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 014

National-International Summit on Non-Violence 015

2 thoughts on “NATIONAL SUMMIT ON NON-VIOLENCE Saturday August 23, 2014

  1. Karen Carrington says:

    Thank you so much for attending the National Day of Non-Violence in DC. We appreciate your comments and encourage you to join us in the effort as a member of BWFPC or our auxiliary group of “The Good Brothers.

    Please visit our website:
    http://www.blackwomenforpositivechange.org

    Karen Carrington
    Co-chair, PR, Events and Merchandise

Leave a Reply

