Learning


Hey fellow writers and readers. Sorry you haven’t seen me but I have had problems with my internet connection on my laptop. It got lost to be exact. I have been off for about one week. And I have overdue assignments as well. But hopefully it won’t go again.

So in my sojourn of my facebook accounts I found an article which I think that you will all like. http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/7-ways-to-perfect-your-writing-tone “7 Ways to Perfect Your Writing Tone”. I specifically liked this section:

What exactly do I mean by tone? That’s a good
question, as there are many terms—mood, style,
voice, cadence, inflection—used to mean much
the same thing. For now let’s agree that tone
is the author’s attitude toward his subject:
grave, amused, scientific, intimate, aggrieved,
authoritative, whatever.

To me this means that tone is defined by the story, character, pace of how its read or reads, the actual written words that describe time, place, action, and what ever else the author wishes to have you the reader see. But is it easy to understand the tone? I have trouble with that I will freely admit. I know what I want you to read. I read it the way I want you to read it but will you actually do the same? I can’t have that guarantee. So you see its like Russian roulette. But what the author further goes on to say is this: To avoid the pitfalls of writing a novel that is not one bought or read ( my interpretation) your tone must be one that people will get and understand. So that they want to buy the novel. some ways that she says you could do that are the following:

1. AVOID A PREDICTABLE TREATMENT OF YOUR SUBJECT.
2. KEEP TONE CONSISTENT FROM START TO FINISH.
3. CUT RUTHLESSLY.
4. LET TENSION SUSTAIN TONE.
5. USE YOUR VOICE.
6. CONVEY TONE THROUGH DETAILS AND DESCRIPTIONS.
7. LEARN TO RECOGNIZE BUILT-IN PROBLEMS WITH TONE.

I think that the hardest to do is Number 3. I hate to cut out anything that I have written. The other hardest thing for me to do is Number 6. I find that I assume certain details that I have to spell out for the reader. And then of course Number 7 says it all. Once I figure out how that works, maybe then maybe I will be one helluva writer that sells multiple novels for a long period of time. Or just someone who thought I could and is satisfied with my blogs. Shall see.

But in the interim, I hope that you read the above mentioned article and maybe weigh in on a conversation with the other readers of this blog.

Update: I am behind on my virtual book tours because of my internet connection problem. Please look for the post to happen this week for the October 16th book review of Robin Waldrop’s novel. And the second novel will be reviewed on the 30th.

I am also hoping to get some sleep as well. But I still want my tea or coffee tonight.

Leave a Reply

