History


Hey guys lately on MSNBC and other stations, I have seen the replay and discussion of Martin Luther King Jr and the March on Washington. I have also been asked when I was covering for a secretary at a church if that church was offering a bus ride to Washington in order to go to the one happening on August 24, 2013. In keeping with that, I am uploading a copy of the text of the “I Have a Dream Speech”, courtesy of Moveon.Org there cite is http://www.archives.gov/press/exhibits/dream-speech.pdf. And the link to the video is here: http://front.moveon.org/i-have-a-dream-will-still-give-you-chills-50-years-later/#.UiSo8ErD_Mx
Please as you watch read along with the text if you choose too. I actually did that and I can hear and understand everything. But it is a moment that will forever live on in history as one of the pivotal moments in history. Through that speech people may have changed their mind. I am not sure if it is at this time that Martin Luther King Jr and Malcom X Shabazz begin to move closer in ideology and then cross paths to switch to the other side as has been intimated by several books and other speeches. Whether or not that is true, what I wanted to give to you today was just this one moment in history for you the reader to look at, remember, maybe cry and just to be.

FOR THOSE IN THE KNOW: KNOWLEDGE IS POWER, POWER IS ACKNOWLEDGEMNT AND UNDERSTANDING. WITH THAT POWER COMES A FORCE TO BE RECKONED WITH AND A FORCE TO LEARN FROM. TEACH YOUR CHILDREN. TEACH YOURSELVES. DON’T JUST LISTEN TO THE HYPE, THE RHTEORIC, THE NEWS WITHOUT READING OR TALKING ABOUT IT. UNDERSTAND WHERE YOU ARE GOING TO AND WHERE YOU ARE COMING FROM. I AM NOT SURE IF THIS IS CONSIDERED A SOAPBOX MINISPEECH OR NOT BUT I GUESS WHAT I AM TRYING TO SAY IS BE IN THE KNOW.

Leave a Reply

