Interview Corner: Robin P. Waldrop


Hi Fellow Readers.  I am hopeful you will like this installation on the Virtual Book  Tour week on Teresa’s Simplicity in Words.  It is my pleasure to introduce to you Robin P. Waldrop, author of young adult novels. In this her second book for the Blood Moon Series, she has graciously agreed to make me a stop on her blog tour.  I will let her own voice speak for her and then I will give you a book review for her two books that she has written to date.

My day of the tour:  Interview and Book Review

Interview

1. What is your full name. How long have you been writing?

My full name is Robin Lee Waldrop, but I use my maiden name initial for my writing. The “P” stands for Pelosi. I have only seriously been writing for a couple of years.

2. When did you first decide that you wanted to be a writer.

I always loved to write. Even as a child I wrote short stories. It wasn’t until two years ago I made the decision to write, and that only came after attempting to read the worst novel ever written.

3. Do you have to do any research for your novels? 

I think every writer has to do research. The amount of research needed depends on the subject. Since I write fiction, I don’t have to do as much research as someone writing a non-fiction novel.

4. When you write your stories do you follow like a timeline, an outline or do you free write? And which method do you choose to use or do use regularly?

I am a “write by the seat of my pants” writer. Honestly, all I do is come up with a story and characters, then I start writing. Only my characters know where the story will end up. and they usually don’t tell me until the last minute.

5. Who are some of your favorite authors? And why?

One of my favorite authors is John Grisham. I went through some tough times several years ago and stopped reading. It wasn’t until a friend gave me The Firm that my love of reading became renewed. My other all time favorite is Stephen King. I get him. you know, I’ve heard so many people say his writing and his movies are weird. Yeah, they are, but I love them. I especially love his movie The Sleepwalkers. My favorite book by him is a collection of short stories called Nightshift.

6. When you read their novels, do you find yourself reading as an author or as a consumer?

Back then, as a consumer. Now, as an author. I can’t read anything without dissecting it. Terrible, I know, but I can’t help it.

7. Multiple question in one: What do you think of the current market for publishing? I have talked to and read a lot of authors are doing self publishing as much if not more than going to publishing houses. A lot of the persons I have seen that are new are going to self publishing because they can get published with little or no cost. The cost of basic copyright is a little much as well. So do you think that is because it is hard to get someone to read your novel?

I honestly think it is a little bit of all of the above. With some authors, it is because they can write and publish whatever they want, but with others, even successful traditional authors like being in charge of their work, down to making the decision of which book cover to use. The internet world has opened up doors to many who would have never seen their work for sale otherwise. And because of the self publishing option, I think it has forced agents and publishers to take a step back and reevaluate their process just a bit.

8. Follow up: Is this your first virtual book tour and how do you like it?

No. This is actually my second tour. My first was with my first novel of this series, Ties To The Blood Moon. Bloggers are some of the nicest, selfless people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. They have opened doors for me that would have otherwise remain locked. It’s mostly because of their tireless efforts I am doing so well with my novels. And the thing I find the most humbling is they do all this for no money. They spend countless hours reading and writing reviews. Making sure to spread the word about authors such as myself. I really think I am in love with all of them. I know they have changed my life for the better.

Virtual Book Tour of Robin P. Waldrop’s Shadow of the Blood Moon

Before I could read the Book Two in this series of the Blood Moon I had to read Book One which was called Ties to the Blood Moon. This introduces the characters of the story, Genevieve, Luna, William, Joseph, Joshua and James (twins), along with Aunt Bev, the Almaric, Gen’s mother and Zane.  These characters are werewolves and vampires.  They live in a part of the country where they are free to run and live their lives.  But the story started a long time ago when Genevieve lost her mother in a house fire.  Outside the house sat a wolf appearing as if he wanted to go inside the house.  The wolf scared her so she ran as far away as she could and her mother died.  She never forgave herself for that.  Now Gen as she is called lives with her Aunt Bev.  But she isn’t entirely happy there.  Starting a new school she meets her new set of friends, William, Luna and Joseph (twins),  Joshua and James (twins); she begins to learn about her heritage.  They set out on a quest to find Zane, the one creature who can destroy their way of life.  Along the way a man known as The Almaric help them out.  It turns out that Genevieve is the Adlet wolf princess and is one of the more powerful of her kind.  But she isn’t strong enough to defeat Zane and win.  But she has another purpose besides saving where she lives in searching out Zane.  Someone came to her in a dream or a vision and told her that her mother was still alive and that Zane has her.  Only she can save her mother and her people.

Apparently Zane kidnaps her Aunt Bev in an effort to draw her out into the open.  Although the group agrees to help her out, the twins, James and Joshua, Luna’s brothers, get kidnapped by the very sect of wolves they appear to be going after led by Zane.   This causes a problem between Luna and Genevieve.   There is some possibility that William knows Zane and that they are working together. Aunt Bev and Zane were involved somehow throughout this whole time as a couple.  He lied to her saying he was in love and would show her the world.  But if he does, he loses the throne.  While all of this is happening, Gen’s mother is apparently still alive kept behind a locked door. When Gen goes to save her mom she is stabbed by the one with her but survives.  And the man who stabbed her was Luna and the twins grandfather because she can’t kill Zane.  They would kill her and leave the wolves without a leader.  Only can she kill him with permission.  And that is how the story ends.  With her asking William to go with her to Prague to gain permission from the Almaric to kill Zane and save her mother in the process as well as the Adlet wolf people.

__________________________________________________________

Book Review of Shadow of the Blood Moon

Book Blurb:  “As an Adlet wolf, I had a decent body.  After I convinced William to turn me, I woke up to one of the most perfectly shaped bodies I had ever seen-lean, cut, curves in all the right places. Another perk.”  P 81

Review:

In the first book Gen is turned into a hybrid, a mixture of a wolf and a vampire.   The second book in the series furthers her story along.  Here we find the four friends going to Prague to go after Genevieve’ s mother long thought to be dead. Zane an Adlet wolf, appears to be the one who kills her mother though before she can get to her.  But her problem is  Laszlo, the vampire. He finds her ring fascinating and when he has her take it off to give it to him, it weakens Gen.   It will increase his power and hold over the race.   But she manages to survive thanks to the help of William and her friends.  While in Prague they pick up the twin that Gen is told that she has as most Adlet wolves are born in pairs or twins.  Her twin, Guinevere, has been living there her whole life.  She agrees to flee with the group and get to know her sister.  As the group tries to keep ahead of the ones hunting them, they are beset by trouble.  The trouble kills one of the group James and no one can save him.  One set of twins is down a member.  But the other twins remain intact.

As their journey continues the two sisters who had just found each other explore their different stories.  Learning what they could about each other’s life.   They are on the run taking a train but get followed.  So William elects to stay behind to keep them out of their hair.  Little did the group know the trouble that William would get in. Peter the hotel concierge where she stayed at when she left William is actually working with Laszlo and happens to know Williams mother, Dahlia.  This makes Gen very angry, because Laszlo has plans for her and her ring.  He plans to take her away to his summer home to get it together. You have to stay tuned for Book 3 to find out what happens.

I give these book 5 stars.  Book One Ties to the Blood Moon starts the story going giving it enough momentum to get you interested.  Book Two Shadow of the Blood Moon continues the tradition keeping your appetite wetted.  The characters are built into the story as if they are woven in.  She ties into also the use of twins to maintain power in the wolf family and how they interact with each other. Remember they originally started this out to find out where Laszlo was to protect their way of life.  Now they are on a journey to save a person who has become part of their family.

I recommend that you read both books and purchase book three as well.

 Please be advised that I did get both books.  I purchased one via a gift certificate from the author that was Book Two and I got the first book,  Book One on the Nook for free.  I am not receiving any other compensation for this book review.

3 thoughts on “Interview Corner: Robin P. Waldrop

  1. Robin P Waldrop says:

    Thanks for the awesome reviews. And also, thanks for being a stop on this book tour. It’s through the generosity of people like yourself that have helped to make this series a success.

    Thanks Again. ;o)

  2. teribelle says:

    Your very welcome guys. Happy to do it. Please stop by for some more fun reading and hopefully informative articles. Plus if you know someone who is looking to do some volunteer work I may need the help soon. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

