How Do You Measure “Sales” of Free Novels?


How do you monitor free novels? New authors are plenty. I have seen a lot of books, ebooks, only for $.99 on websites like Smashwords, Amazon and the store Barnes and Noble. There is a facebook group called $.99 Cent Ebooks. A lot of new authors as I have said are using this method to sell their novel. Me too. I was supposed to publish the beginning of the year. But I didn’t. So now I postponed, found a new cover that I am asking permission to use and making the money to purchase a new copyright notice.
But back to my main question: how do you monitor the “purchaser” of your free novels? Do you use graphs, Survey Monkey, Stats or some other counter form on the program? Shut it down at the end of the year to calculate and restart at the beginning of the year? How do you find out that information? And do you want too? No I do want to find out that information. I don’t want to screw myself over and not know that information. Why? Because that knowledge is power. That power is what you need to use for future reference in your future novels that you write sales.
How do you utilize it? You utilize it by looking at how it sold in comparison to similar novels with established publishing houses. To not be out of the game but to be in the game of writing for life.
What other ways can you monitor your sales of free novels? By selling your novel on other websites using services such as point and click ads. I have just found out about Adhitz, Linkshare and shareasales.com. These allow you to advertise on other websites but you do have to pay the owner of the blog. You should check it out for yourself. Also try book trailers. I am not sure if you are able to monitor sales but if its a free book you may be able to add a link to the book trailer and track the number of hits to download your free novel.
These are I believe some of the ways you can track the sales of your free novels and paid novels as well. I hope this article has helped you in some way or at least given you an idea.

3 thoughts on “How Do You Measure “Sales” of Free Novels?

Leave a Reply

