2012 Academy Awards


How many actually watch the Academy Awards from beginning at the walk down the red carpet to the end of the award show with the last statute handed out? I will admit that I don’t. My actual concern is a frivolous one. I watch the fashion show prior to the awards show. I am a die hard fan of what you wore that night. And then I scour the internet for pictures of your outfits afterwards. I look forward to Fashion Police with Joan Rivers and crew. And I also watch the talk shows take on it as well if they have it.
Why do I live to see the fashion? Because I can’t get enough of the outfits and what some people will do and not do. Most of the dresses I like. Some of them I don’t understand. But some of the staples I think are true for anyone interested in fashion. I know that my opinion may not be much but I wanted to share with you a couple:

1. Match your dress to your skin tone. You are like how do you do that? It’s more of playing up what you have. If you are a light brown skin tone you may want to wear a light pink. If you are dark skin tone you may want to wear bronze. If you are a pale pasty white lady you may want to wear a color that doesn’t overpower you. Sometimes a light purple or a light pale blue. I am not a fan of all pastels but some people are. If you are a colored looking white person, I think you can wear any color that doesn’t drown you out. If you are a red hair follow roy g biv. It helps out immensely. If you are a latino or latina I still think anything goes. But I have some preferences with your hair color that match. Because you skin color I think goes well with anything.

2. High heel height. I am a fan of wearing a high heel. However, the highest I have ever gone is 6 inch stiletto heels. I have seen 7 inch heels though. But I believe the shoe should fit the dress. Last night I saw someone wearing flat gold toned open toed shoes. With the dress looked nice. But I am not sure that all should wear the flat shoe. I think a higher heel than normal is nice for a night like last night.

3. Long dresses versus short dresses I am a fan of long dresses. Ones that have the hem on the floor actually. I like the idea of the heel lengthening the dress that you wear. But for those who like short dresses I like those that are silhouettes as well. But give you body. No matter what your body type I think that you can find the dress that you like.

4. Men’s clothing I really can’t weigh in on the men’s clothing trend. I think as long as the man comes dressed in a nice suit or tuxedo with a tie as oppose to a bow tie if it calls for with nicely polished shoes then he is a nice looking guy.

So now that I have weighed in on that: I will stab at Fashion Police prior to watching it and give you my own take. I am a faithful fan. So ths is my own Fashion of the Academy Awards:

I like Gwyneth Paltrow’s dress although Yahoo http://movies.yahoo.com/photos/2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252F2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow%252Fgwyneth-paltrow-photo-1330319051.html gave it a D. I like the idea of the cape/coat over the dress in case your cold. And I like the one shoulder look.

I like Sandra Bullock’s dress with the low cut back. I am not a fan of extra layering or filagree on the dresses but I liked that dress. They gave it a B. http://movies.yahoo.com/photos/2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252F2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow%252Fsandra-bullock-photo-1330313924.html

I like Jennifer Lopez’s dress. It was nice and always a hit. Both her and Angelina Jolie always seem to hit the mark with their dresses. They got A’s. http://movies.yahoo.com/photos/2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252F2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow%252Fjennifer-lopez-photo-1330326258.html

I like Glenn Close’s outfit as well. She is in green.I am not a complete fan of the bottom but I like the jacket that goes with the outfit. http://movies.yahoo.com/photos/2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252F2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow%252Fglenn-close-photo-1330307826.html

I like Berenice Bejo’s dress. It goes back to what I was saying about women with red hair wearing the color green and following roy g biv. http://movies.yahoo.com/photos/2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252F2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow%252Fberenice-bejo-photo-1330308732.html

I like Judy Greer’s outfit. I think it elongates your body and gives you a nice silhoette. http://movies.yahoo.com/photos/2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252F2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow%252Fjudy-greer-photo-1330307825.html

I like Melanie Griffith in most outfits. But this time I have to say I think she looks good. http://movies.yahoo.com/photos/2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252F2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow%252Fmelanie-griffith-photo-1330308731.html

I like Sherri Shephard’s dress except for the top. I think for me if it had the lace covering the whole top I would like it better than without it. http://movies.yahoo.com/photos/2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow/#crsl=%252Fphotos%252F2012-oscars-red-carpet-report-card-slideshow%252Fsheri-shepherd-photo-1330313923.html%253B_ylt%253DAgOCsNzXRckwACjc73hQ.L0Tv.t_%253B_ylu%253DX3oDMTNyb3Vqa3U5BHBrZwMzZTlkZjVmMS03NDNlLTMxMzMtYWNkZS1kZDQ1YTExZmE0NzgEcG9zAzQzBHNlYwNNZWRpYUNhcm91c2VsUGhvdG9HYWxsZXJ5Q0FYSFIEdmVyAzhjMjAwYjYwLTYwZjQtMTFlMS1iOTBkLThiZDVhOTFmZDQwMg–%253B_ylv%253D3

I am hoping that you guys who are interested watched and had an enjoyable evening. One of my goals is to eventually have an Oscar or Grammy or Acadamey Award Party. The idea came to me when I was setting up a Luau Party.

On the night of the show, its for the pre-show only meaning the red carpet. We get together in our finest outfits, have some wine, some hor d’ouevres and watch the show and discuss the outfits. Men and Women welcome. And after the show starts, we can either go out to dinner or have dinner there and talk. Or you have to go home. I am not sure of the etiquette there actually. So that is on my to do list for “when I get my own place.”

Hope you guys had an enjoyable weekend. And I hope that your week is just as good.

2 thoughts on “2012 Academy Awards

Leave a Reply

