TV Watching


Here in this hour, I am watching Green Zone starring Matt Damon. I missed a half hour for dinner. I don’t like military fiction as a general run I’ve always said. And then I looked at what I watched on television or read in books. Military fiction and science fiction fantasy. So okay, although I really shouldn’t say I don’t like reading about the military, it’s a lie. Ok, you have it. It’s a lie. But I don’t like all military programming and books. I don’t want to serve my country. I want to read what they do. Maybe report what they do. But not to serve.

I will tell you why I like to read and watch. I have decided it’s because of what I see on the written page or televison screen: the sleep deprivation experiment with Persia White, Dog Soldiers with Sean Pewtrie and the Sand Wars author unknown right now, and Moreta Dragon Lady of Pern by Anne McCaffrey. The real and imagine threat. The real true description of war in a fantastical feature. But I still don’t in general want to read or watch the military or participate.

I hope this doesn’t affect you too much. I admit the lie but I really watch the fantasy- werewolves, time travel, fusion, nuclear clouds, magnetic creatures, dragons- am I making my point? See fantastical.

But so you know I’m 1 hour and 17 minutes into the Green Zone movie. Nice movie. I would repeat- ok I repeat:

I don’t like the search for WMD (weapons of mass destruction) in Iraq. But I understand the rational. The search for instruments of terror that will do a lot of damage to Americans. We go to Iraq, Iran, maybe Afghanistan to search not only for WMD but the next terrorist threat like Ossama Bin Laden; Saddam Hussein, etc. In hopes of averting the next September 11 where millions of people die. But what about the other powers, China, Japan and Russia- they have nuclear capablilty. Oh wait- we had some of the nukes destroyed but probably kept the A-bomb, fusion bomb and we still have ICBM’S heat seeking missiles and other weapons. Yet we still went all out. And a lot of military died, a lot got injured and sometimes I think its a thankless job.

As many military as I talk to via instant message or the chatroom, retired, career or enlisted I still can’t help but think- had you not chosen to do what you do where will be? And am I the one that people hate because I don’t want to enlist. I think that is unfair.

Green Zone is over. It was a good movie. I give it a 5.

Well I could go on ad nauseum, but I won’t.

Until next time bat fiends, chat ya laterz.

4 thoughts on “TV Watching

  1. Pingback: Buy Fan Facebook
  2. promise rings says:

    Thank you, I’ve recently been looking for information about this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon till now. However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you sure in regards to the source?|What i do not realize is in fact how you are no longer actually a lot more smartly-preferred than you may be now. You’re very intelligent.

  3. Pingback: Facebook Fans

Leave a Reply

