Internet Writers Oath


Good Morning.  For those in the know:  if you read BlogHer you know they have tackled people stealing others blog entries and posting them on their website without permission and without link backs.  I am guilty myself. I try to put a link in but I have learned it is good to notify them that you are doing so. This way they don’t get upset.  Well this is a subject close to my soapbox heart. You know why- cause I am always telling you to watch what you say.  The link-wait for it; ….drum roll please:
 

http://www.blogher.com/justin-long-and-internet-writers-oath?wrap=topic/life&crumb=19   walalah!  Please read.  Let them know your feedback.  I think its good advice. I think it words we may want to live by.  I think we can all agree even radio personalities use this motto.  Like Ms. A. says if you put it out there she will talk about it.  But at the same time, I think she tries to give you the opportunity if possible if you call her show and tell the world your side of things.  A friend from college said once well you thought it you might as well say it because you will eventually.  That’s a paraphrase because I don’t remember exactly what she said.  So please don’t be angry. Again, why you have to watch what you say.   

 I think in the article it says that you should if you are going to write about them and what they said to please let them know beforehand.  I have done that with my friend Mr. Moseley.  As you can see I have a portion of his e-mail posted here.  But I didn’t want to do that without his permission because even though it was sent to me, it wasn’t just my conversation.  Therefore, I didn’t feel it right to actually just post it. To be fair, I had written the article, saved it and then told him.  So you see, even I need to remember that.  But the point is that I had to let him know prior to posting it on my webpage. 

Another reason I am saying it is that I like some poets and some songwriters.  I have posted their work as well. What gets me into trouble is  am still learning what is okay to post without permission.  To be safe, the best thing to do is to ask permission. But when dealing with conversations, and other issues you may want to ask permission.  You can’t always do that. So its also a judgement call.  What do you feel is what your willing to risk in your post?   

More later. 

2:08pm

Hi.  I am reading up on my genre of interest for writing. That is mystery.  I am reading a cozy mystery.  For those in the know and those who don’t know a cozy mystery is:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cozy_mystery and is defined as:   subgenre of crime fiction in which sex and violence are downplayed or treated humourously.   That article from Wikipedia explains it.  Also read: http://www.cozy-mystery.com/Definition-of-a-Cozy-Mystery.html which is a website that also talks about cozy mysteries.  So far my writing is going towards being a cozy mystery.  It has an attorney who solves a mystery with a side kick who is either a paralegal, college student or someone other than himself. So I am figuring out slightly where I believe my novel falls in but the publisher might think otherwise.

For those in the know:  looking for work is hard and depressing.  Do you know the worst is when people ask you to do something that you know you don’t want to do. 

 

Chat ya laterz!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

