February Musings


So I read the blog magazine Daily Candy.  I am sure you have heard of it. Anyway, the web address is http://www.dailycandy.com.  It has locations around the country. Any major city you can look at.  If you get the chance read it. I have to go out and find some help.  I have a hungry house today.  And an unhappy family member too.  He got sick and she cried. 
 
I want to inform you  of my impression of the commercial that they did not let run on Superbowl Sunday.  I  thought it wasn’t a bad commerical.  The guys reaction to the other two men kissing was comical.  But I didn’t see the need for it not to show. But again, I don’t know what they (the powers that decide these things) saw in the commerical.  It starts out as a normal day of watching Sunday Football. Their hands meet and then whammo- they suck face!!! Okay, so whats wrong with that?  Well for starters its two men.  No matter how blase we say we are it isn’t that easy to see the same sex kiss each other.  And despite that we have numerous shows on the matter, a lot of people who aren’t either involved in that alternative lifestyle or those that aren’t in contact with people of the same background may be offended. Those who have never been introduced because of where they live will be offended.  Some of us admit to being uncomfortable.  I once saw two women kissing in front of me.  I have to admit I was like, Damn, get a room. And Ewww! so nasty!!! But hey I think I probably saw it a couple of more times after that, and after the first time, it ain’t so bad.  So okay, now its two men outside of All My Children doing it. Are we so wrong in our desire to not be seeing it?  Can we ourselves be so high and mighty that it was a wrong thing to see?  I don’t know the answer to that.  The major question is what was it selling- I believe it was beer. And if it was beer would it have sold the beer that they wanted it too? Again unable to answer. But hey some marketing representative could for you.
 
Okay well that is MY TWO CENTS for the day.  I have to go now. 
Leave a Reply

