I Got the Blues! Sniff! Sniff!


Theodore Roosevelt once said:  "The things that will destroy America are prosperity-at-any-price, peace-at-any-price, safety-first instead of duty-first, the love of soft living, and the get-rich-quick theory of life."  What does this quote mean to me:  It means that people who want and give nothing will never have a life.  They will always want what they can’t have. And I understand that. I want what I can’t have sometimes. Sometimes feels like alot of the times.  But it isn’t true. 
 
For those in the know:  I am sitting in the house where I currently reside.  (not that you know that) but anyway, I am waiting to decide if I am going outside tonight.  I want to not be in the  house.  But what I wanted to tell you was I found a new newspaper.  It is called the Morning Call.  It is out of Pennsylvania. Anyway, I am telling you about this paper because it appears to be a good read. It services more than one area in PA.  So if you get the chance you should read it.  The papers website address is http://www.mcall.com/.
 
 
Nov. 11th Veteran’s Day
 
 For those in the know:  It is Veteran’s Day and school is in session.  The district had all of last week out.  I can finally get back on the internet.  It was down all day in the house for some reason.  I don’t like when that happens.  If I have something to do I can’t do it. 
 
I actually don’t have much to say today.  I was hoping for a good day but it didn’t materialize as a good day or a bad day.  I found a new newspaper out of Pennsylvania. I mentioned it earlier.  I also found out a new blog which I am reviewing now.  Hopefully, if it is a good blog, I can let you guys know what it is like.
 
Heads up- I am developing a sore throat.  The reason I share this is to discuss remedies for helping me get better.  I am going to try the gargling tonight.  And buy some throat lozenges. That is what I normally do. But it doesn’t work out all the time.  Then if it doesn’t work out I will try Theraflu for sore throats and colds. If you guys know of any other remedies for sore throats please let me know.  Or of any websites for same.   For those in the know:  I found a website which gives out helpful hints on how to clean your bathroom of rot and stain; how to care for a cold.  The weblink is: http://www.mrscleannw.com/tips/bathroom-mildew.html.   There is another one but I have to find it out.  I will let you know.  In case you are wondering, I also wanted to put in here a little bit of helpful hints for your every day life.  I find that helps me out to find out things that people do.
 
As I stated earlier I like to read and I am beginning a book club and a writer’s circle.  If you or anyone who reads this blog are interested in becoming part of either of these groups please drop me a line.  You can email  me right through the blog. I will respond to you as soon as I pick up my email.  In connection with this I would like to share with you some poems that I have read.  I read some of these while in school. 
 
This one comes from A Classic Collection of Poems by a Master of American Verse- Selected Poems of Langston Hughes. It is entitled,
Reverie on the Harlem River 
deleted by author of blog.  Found in book listed above.  11/15/2010 originally posted Nov. 11, 2008
 
 For those in the know:  I had taken this class for English in college.  I liked the poetry and the class wasn’t too bad.  I thought I would share some of what I thought was nice writing with you.  I write poetry as well as mystery novels and I am hoping to publish a book of poetry soon.  Maybe if you join either the book club or the writer’s circle, we can explore different types of writing including poetry.   And possibly we can all contribute to a book that we do together.  Who knows?!
 
Another book that I read in and out of school (because I still look at it off and on) is the following:  How to Survive Without Your Parents’ Money:  Making it from college to the Real Word by Geoof Martz.  What is included in this book is the following:  (excerpt from the cover)  employers reveal what they look for in a resume, cover letter, interview; first-person accounts from people who got the job they wanted; allergic to pantyhose and neckties?  check out our list of incredible job options and tips on how to be a musician/artist/writer and still pay the rent.  I think it is a good read no matter what age you are.  I hope that you guys will buy it.
 
Another book that is good and I am still reading is this one:  Organizing Plain & Simple  by Donna Smallin.  I have another one but I can’t find it right now.  I have to work at organization.  I finally got it down to where I kept my desk at work so neat you could find anything on it. And then of course, after the mail piled up it went straight to the ground.  But the good thing is it taught me what I needed to work on in my daily scheduling of work.  How important it was to have a to do list and a daily task list for the week. And also it helped me to keep my calendar as well.  
 
If you get the chance, I think you might want to buy either of these books.  They are really helpful.
 
I hope that you have had a good day.  My M and friend ( I believe my friend went as well.  I like to think of them as friends and not acquaintances,)  went to a funeral today I think.  So when you get home, go hug your family and your kids.  Tell someone you love  them before it’s too late to tell them anything. 
 
Until next time   Same coffee shop but different bar drink.  By the way guys you might want to try Starbucks Frappacino’s the fruit ones. They are delicious. If a bit sweet and probably more than a little fattening. But man, do they taste Good!
 
Bye! Sleep Well.
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

